One easy productivity hack: "Not at this desk!"

Making an exclusive workspace while working from home

While working from home, I've often struggled for focus. I benefit hugely from the external accountability provided by an office environment, and while tools like focusmate can help they are no substitute for sitting in the same room as others who are working.

I have many strategies to manage my focus, and this is one. When I feel the pull of temptation to read the news, or watch a youtube video, or whatever it is, I say this to myself:

Not at this desk!

I've decided that when I need a break I can do the things which, at my desk, would be a distraction. However, the rule is that I must not do them at my desk. I lock my PC, step physically away from my desk, and go elsewhere in my house.

This creates a mental divide between the place where I work (my desk), and the places where I rest (everywhere else). Having this divide sets the expectation of doing work while I'm at my desk, and helps me switch into work mode when I go to my desk. It is a place used exclusively for work, so I start to focus.

This strategy also prompts me to take breaks when I need them. When I feel the pull of distraction it is often (although not always) a sign that I should have a break for a few minutes. Walking away from my desk undoubtedly makes it a better quality break, and helps me come back to my work with more energy.

What strategies do you use to help you focus when working from home?